Lord Birkett memorial Trophy 2022

Lord Birkett Trophy – Staunton class winners

trophyAfter two days of sailing the results are in!

Home club winner

Firstly – huge congratulations to the winner of the 60th Lord Birkett Memorial Trophy, Musto Skiff sailor and UYC member Dylan Noble.

Staunton sailors top two classes

This year’s Lord Birkett attracted over 190 entries, from over 40 different classes. Staunton sailors from four different classes took to the water and brought home two firsts in their fleet – great result!

Daren Fasey/ Colin Davis were first Fireball (and 18th overall). This is the second time the duo have taken the silver plate, winning in 2017 and taking the second spot in 2018 and 2019. And for those of you wondering how long it takes to sail the course. Daren and Colin’s fastest finish this year was 1:52:38 – corrected to 1:58:34.

First in the 2000 fleet, were Staunton’s, Tim Gray/ and Aileen Barnett (38th overall).

A 13th spot on day two for RS400 sailors

Our team of RS400s – Sam Jones/ Corey Newton, Grahame Newton/ Grahame Smith and Nathan Smith/ Richard Barnett saw the strongest result from Jones/ Newton.  Whilst the duo finished 43rd overall, their 13th spot finish on Day 2 was the highest placed finish on either of the two days for RS400 team Staunton, taking 1:55:37 to complete (corrected to 2:02:23).

Congratulations also go to our RS200 team headed up by Nigel & Di Pepperdine who finished 61st whilst fellow RS200 team members Matthew & Desmond Luxton retired on Day 1 and finished 137th on Day 2.

The weekend saw rain, sunshine, howling winds on Day 1 and strong winds at times on Day 2. As ever ‘The Lord Birkett’ remains a firm favourite with sailors up and down the country and a key event for our travelling sailors. We look forward to being back in 2023!

Lord Birkett Memorial Trophy

A little but about the Lord Birkett Memorial Trophy. Traditionally the event takes place on the first weekend in July.

Ranked number 8 in Yachts and Yachting’s top 50 ‘must do’ sailing events, “The Birkett” is contested over 2 all class handicap races around the entire length of lake (approx 14 miles return). Entry is open to monohull dinghies and keelboats with a PYN rating below 1340 and under 25ft 6 inches overall length.

Full results

To view the full results please click here.

Thank you

A very big thank you goes to Ullswater Yacht Club for another superb festival of sailing!


Leave a Comment