Staunton takes top 10 spot in Endeavor trophy

9th place finish for Staunton’s Simon Forbes

Fantastic ninth place finish for Staunton’s Simon Forbes, crewing for Alan Krailing in the ‘Champions of Champions’ Endeavour Trophy. This hugely prestigious annual event is by invitation only. Krailing and Forbes, five bullet, Gul Scorpion National win earlier in the year put them securely on the invitation list! Just 30 teams  – all ‘Champions’ – competed in the Endeavour Trophy which was hosted by the Royal Corinthian Yacht Club  over the weekend (12th,13th and 14th October).

Convincing win for 2017 Champions

Six time winners of the event – Ben Saxton & Toby Lewis were the clear favourites. With three consecutive wins under their belt, the duo took six bullets to make 2018 four wins in a row! Christian Birrell & Sam Brearey (Merlin Rocket) were the only boat beat Saxton/Lewis to a win on the day. A strong set of seconds gave them second place overall. Meantime Maria Stanley & Alan Roberts (RS 200) with 20 points overall, finished third.

Champion of Champions – Endeavour Trophy

The Endeavour Trophy is a unique event in the UK dinghy sailing world. Held on the tidal waters of the rivers Crouch and Roach at the end of every year, it’s an invitation only event. Competitors are hand-picked National Champions of selected recognised fleets. As such, the event is seen as the pinnacle of the year’s sailing – a unique head-to-head for the champions of 2018! To read more please click here.

Endeavour Trophy results



Leave a Comment