Staunton trio wins the Lord Birkett Memorial Trophy 2019!

First-timers, National 18 sailors, Peter Gray, Simon Forbes and Sam Jones from Staunton Harold Sailing Club win the Lord Birkett Memorial Trophy at Ullswater Yacht Club, on July 6 & 7

Staunton trio wins Lord-Birkett-Memorial-Trophy-2019-at-Ullswater-Yacht-Club-2019-07-19-10-07-47For the first time in the history of the Lord Birkett (established 1963) there will be three names on the sought-after silver salver. As trio of Staunton sailors Peter Gray, Simon Forbes and Sam Jones, competing for the first time in this race scooped the top spot!

The weekend was dominated by very light, unstable winds and frustrating sailing conditions.  The Staunton trio managed to stay ahead in the results, winning overall with two firsts on handicap. In second place were Colin and Oly Murray in a Norfolk Punt with two thirds and third overall were 2014 Birkett winners Chris Pickles and Matt Sharman of Bassenthwaite SC in an RS400.

There was very little wind on Saturday and it was coming from an awkward NNW direction. Race officer Rick Boyce set a course from a start line right across the lake to the northern end, round two buoys, then south to Wall Holm, the second of the three islands at the Glenridding end. The fleet got way at the second attempt under the black flag and made very slow progress to the north. Then it was off on a downwind leg of more than of more than seven miles to Wall Holm and a beat back to the club.


Day two of the Lord Birkett

Sunday brought the same challenging, vaguely Northerly, conditions and the start line was set round the corner from club near Sharrow Bay. It was a shorter course than on Saturday, a ‘beat’ to the north round two buoys near the club, a ‘run’ down the lake to a turning mark on the second reach near Birkett Crag, then back.

The leading boats took less than two hours to complete the course with the National 18 again far enough ahead to win on handicap. Grahame Newton and Rachel Rhodes of Staunton Harold SC sailed a blinder in their Scorpion. They were up there with the faster boats all the way round and finished second on handicap.

Staunton Harold Sailing Club wins club trophy

Prize winners in the 2019 Lord Birkett TrophyIt was a successful weekend for Staunton Harold SC, with 11 entries the club also won the Dalemain Trophy for the most visiting competitors. Staunton had a whopping 11 entries!

The iconic event was first raced in 1963 in honour of Lord Norman Birkett who died two days after making a successful speech in the House of Lords which prevented Ullswater from becoming a reservoir which would have restricted public access. Every year since then, the club has held the prestigious two-day long distance race in memory of the ‘Saviour of Ullswater.’



Overall Results

1st – Peter Gray/ Simon Forbes/ Sam Jones (National 18)

7th – Grahame Newton/ Rachael Rhodes (Scorpion)

15th Nigel / Di Pepperdine (RS200) (and 2nd RS200)

41st Lol Hayward/ Lynne Munro (Rs200)

57th Daren Fasey/ Colin Davis (Fireball) (and 2nd Fireball)

72nd Terry Forbes/ Aileen Barnett (2000) (and 1st 2000)

126th Nick Kindon/ Paul Munro (RS400)

158th Russ Coggrave/ Lucy Mallory (RS200)

173rd Henry Barnes/ Grahame Smith (RS400)

177th Ethan Lowing/ Edward Green (29’er) (and 2nd 29’er)

177th Nathan Smith/ Richard Barnett (2000)

Winners Dalemain Trophy (Visiting club wit most entries)

230 entries overall

To read the full Yachts and Yachting report and see the full list of results please click here.

Leave a Comment